What’s With the Sunday Review?

I find myself reading more e-books. One of the joys of e-booking reading (aside from having one less thing to carry, or forget to carry, during the daily commute) is finding new authors whose work is primarily, if not exclusively in the e-publishing format. A lot of these writers are not backed by the traditional publishing houses. This means they don’t have the PR machine a traditional publisher brings. (It also means they don’t have to worry about hurting the feelings of tender little Snow Flakes, but that is a story for another time). As such, it means writing and posting reviews of their works is more important. If people don’t review the books, there is a good chance other people won’t read the books.

I am really horrible about getting around to writing reviews. Life tends to get in the way. (Which is why some of you will also note the occasional gap in this blog). I always mean to write a review, but don’t always get to it. But I am trying to change that.

What prompted this was the story about John Van Stry’s The King of Las Vegas. I had heard about this book before it was published. But the aforementioned life got in the way and I promptly forgot to purchase it the day it was released/dropped/whatever the terminology for publication.  A few days later, I remembered the book, but wasn’t sure of the exact name. I typed it into the ol’ search engine and was pleasantly surprised I got the name right. And then I was distressed when I read that shortly after the book went on the market, it was hacked and Van Stry’s sales plummeted. According to his blog, the financial hit was sufficient that Van Stry is thinking about not writing anymore novels and going back to consulting work.

The idea that someone would have to stop what they are doing for work and enjoying it because others have a sense of entitlement <cough> Feel the Bern <cough> is depressing.

Needless to say, I purchased the book and resolved to review it. Now thankfully I liked the book. If not this blog would be rather awkward. The Review is posted below (a version of it will also appear on Amazon’s website, which is where I purchased it). But I am going to try to post reviews of e-books that I’ve read on this blog. Saturdays will be the political entry and Sundays the book review. But I would also encourage those of you reading this to remember to review books you’ve read, especially if the author is not (yet) a household name.

 

(And in case you’re wondering: no, I have never met John Van Stry nor could I pick him out of a line-up. I purchased the book through Amazon. And while I have linked to the book’s Amazon page, I do not get any compensation from Amazon for the link. So, to sum up I have no personal or financial stake in this book or any other book that I will eventually review. If at any point this changes, I will clearly note it.)

Leave a Reply

